Silver Linings Playbook review

image
“I’m practicing being kind over being right”

“Life is not a PG feel-good movie. Real life often ends badly. Literature tries to document this reality, while showing us it is still possible for us to endure nobly.”
― Matthew Quick, The Silver Linings Playbook

 

Review: some spoilers I guess.

Bonjour!

It’s Chloe here and today I have a book review for yall.

 

This book by Matthew Quick reminded me a lot of Perks of being a Wallflower- the adult version.

I don’t know why this book would be called “fun” or “light-hearted”.It was depressing and pretty dark at times.

I’m not saying it’s not enjoyable, I did enjoy it but it is a book I wouldn’t read again. If you get what I’m trying to say here.

Pat is a 34 year old man who is a little coo coo for cocoa puffs.

He thinks that his ex-wife will love him again if he loses weight. Sigh.

You have to be kidding me.

He does remind me a lot of Charlie, but I loved Charlie .. Pat, well maybe not so much.

There both crazy–. I mean mental issues. Both cry a lot in public.

Charlie writes letters and Pat writes journal entry’s and letters.

I found them both similar in a way. I’d pick The Perks of being a Wallflower over this any day.

I did love his character at times. He loves his family. He’s a little worse for wear at times but in general a good person.

You need to make time for your family no matter what happens in your life

He’s not perfect and I believe he finally comes to that conclusion at the end.

His silver lining.

I don’t know if I liked the ending. It.. I don’t know .

I’m in a very weird mood typing this review.

Also there’s a weird man just standing by the garbage can, staring into space with a bottle of vodka in his hand. I wonder what he’s thinking..
His dog keeps barking. Also it’s sitting in one of those bike thingies you attach for your kids to sit in.

Omg what is happening. Ugh. I live in such a weird neighborhood.

Anyways,
The book was good but definitely not the best. ( MY OPINION)

 

I don’t like writing these kind of reviews, but you gotta be honest.

Rating: 3.5/5 💋

Until next time,

Chloe Books

Leave a Reply

