Maze Runner Review

image
Review

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

It’s Chloe here today with a book review.

Maze Runner by James Dashner was a boring, bland ride.

Yes, this is going to be a very opinionated review on this book, so continue reading of you want to see what I thought about it.

A very ranted review that might make Maze Runner lovers mad. 

When first starting this I have to admit, it wasn’t all that bad. Now I did make the mistake of watching the movie before the book. So when reading this I had an idea of what was going to happen. Now I loved the movie , mainly due to the reason that my favorite actor Dylan o’ brien plays the main protagonist Thomas. This may cloud my judgment on the book but the movie is definitely, way freaking better.

It took me nearly two months to finish this book- and Im a very fast reader if I love the book. So the two months thing is saying a lot.

Why I didn’t like the book? Well number 1: The writing? Ha pretty much like a ten year old wrote it. Very juvenile. This is supposed to be an YA but the people reading it aren’t twelve. Either a better editor or learn to write for the YA crowd. Please.

2: The I fell in love at first sight thing- the insta love-                          Thomas and Teresa? I felt like the whole reason she was put into the book was so Thomas can have an love interest. The whole Telepathic thing was pretty cool, but.. I really don’t think she should have been in the book or as an potential lover. Hey I’m not saying I don’t love romance while reading. Just could’ve done without it in this. I don’t need romance in every book I read, if the book is good, well written, and fast paced then I can definitely do without romance. Just give me a good book.

3: The slang, characters, setting. Everything was a disaster. Thomas was an whiny, curious, annoying bloke. Couldn’t stand him. He was bipolar. One minute he got annoyed with Chuck, then he loved Chuck and needed an friend. He was happy. His emotions were bouncing all over the place.

The slang was so stupid it was hilarious.

You’re the shuckiest shuck-faced shuck there ever was!

Wait.. What?

Hahaha.

No.

4:Bland, boring, uneventful read.

I loved the movie and think the writing is better! If not for the movie and the good actor playing Thomas then I wouldn’t even bother picking up the book or even watching the movie. The only reason I did was I wanted to see what all the hype was about and the difference between the movie and book.

Im sorry. I’m in a ranting mood.

rating: 3/5 💋

Until next time,

Chloe Books 💫

 

 

3 thoughts on “Maze Runner Review

  1. Great review!! I’ve heard so many people saying that this book is lousy and after seeing the film I have no interest in reading it (although like you I did like Dylan O Brien in it). Like you said the slang is silly and the setting was daft. In fact, that is my main issue with the story- it literally makes no sense to me!! If you have only a few people in a dystopian world that are immune to a disease, it would make more sense if they did everything in their power to keep them alive- rather than putting them in a maze and testing them so that they die :/ It’s never made any sense to me. In fact, if they want to test them, why don’t they use a simulation or something (this is the future). It just doesn’t work as an idea.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

