Carry On Review

“You have to pretend that you get an endgame. You have to carry on like you will; otherwise, you can’t carry on at all.”

image

Hello darlings!

Today I have another book review for y’all. I’ve been reading a lot of books lately, with being on summer vacation and having the house mostly to myself, I’ve been able to read which means I’ve been finishing books in just days.

Sigh. Where has my life gone!?

Well no time for dramatics. Let’s Carry On.   Hah. Get it? No? Okay I’ll stop.

This is my very first time ever reading one of Rainbow Rowell’s books. I did take a interest to Fangirl by her quite awhile back but me being me, I was broke and couldn’t buy it.

The pain.

image
Constantly me in bookstores with every beautiful book.

 

Okay this book has become my July favorite.

It was adorable, funny, had me laughing at times, and swooning over Simon and Baz.

Rainbow Rowell has a very unique writing style, and somehow this made the characters more real to me.

For the beginning. We start the book in Simons POV, where he spends half the time worrying and obsessing over Baz, which was a little annoying at times but did make me smile for most.

We find out Simon is the chosen one and the Humdrum has been after him for awhile. He has a bestie named Penelope, a gf named Agatha. ( more on her later) and an enemy he hates, Baz.

The characters were perfect to me, well some , which brings me to the many POV’s.

Now I have a very hard time reading novels with many character POV’s. Just doesn’t sit well with me and ends up making me very annoyed. I had a problem like this with , The Prophecy of Arcadia by M.H Soars. Just no. No.

Now Im gonna start with the downfalls.

 

image

I did feel a little disappointed like I would in my own child (because this book is my baby. ) I felt like Rowell needed to work on this. She was so close! When reading Simon I got the gist of who he was. Then we switched to Penelope and she sounded exactly like Simon! In fact most of the characters sounded like Simon that I got so bloody confused that I found myself Turing back to the chapter to see who I was reading. I did feel a little weird at first as to why we had Lucys POV, and I really felt no need for Agatha who made me extremely depressed. I feel like just Simon and Baz would’ve been just fine.

I did feel like the book was a very slow in the beginning.

Simon never really used his powers but just the sword, that was irking me. Even Penelope who wasn’t the chosen one was using her powers more.

Simon not believing Baz towards the end. Being a little bit oblivious.

Agatha was basically just put in the book as Simons gf to have an obstacle of Baz and Simon. She made me very depressed and annoyed me to the extreme.

Okay that’s it. Now onto the Pros!

I was anticipating Baz for book 1 and then when he finally showed and Simon sprung out of his chair. My emotions!

“When I felt myself slipping too far, I held on to the one thing I’m always sure of—
Blue eyes.
Bronze curls.
The fact that Simon Snow is the most powerful magician alive. That nothing can hurt him, not even me.
That Simon Snow is alive.
And I’m hopelessly in love with him.”

Finally! After the hate-love thing going on we get Baz who admits his feelings. Now I thought it was going to be the other way around with Simon who admits his feelings. I like how it’s the cool -collected Baz.

We get a lot more of their relationship that became otp, on Christmas break. Which had me smiling and dying of feels..

“I lift up his chin. “Baz.”
“Go away, Snow.”
“You’re not a monster,” I say. His face is cold as a corpse in my hand. “I was wrong. All those years. You’re a bully. And a snob. And a complete arsehole. But you’re not one of them.”

Another thing was the friendship between Penny and Baz. Which was awesome. I loved how loyal and trustworthy she was of Simon. She wasn’t scared of him and rushed head first into danger, whenever anything happened to her bestie.

Penny was a favorite of mine.

This isn’t my first rodeo with LGBT community and reading about an gay couple. This one though was amazing. Otp right here. YASS.

image

That is exactly how I pictured Simon! Now here’s a picture of Baz.

image

Image was from: http://arranbyrn.tumblr.com/

Okay so overall, this was such an amazing read!

HIGHLY RECOMMENDED TO EVERYONE.

SIMON AND BAZ.

5/5 💋

Until next time,

Chloe 💁

Leave a Reply

